ThinKing Award 2018

Right at the beginning of the year we received our first award. With the ThinKing, the state agency for lightweight construction, LeichtbauBW, presents an innovative lightweight construction solution from Baden-Württemberg once a month. We are very proud that a jury of experts has chosen our “ILO1” as the winner out of a total of twelve ThinKings from 2018. We are very proud to accept this award on behalf of the entire team, as our successes throughout the year with the ILO1 would not have been possible without the entire team. Enclosed we have for you the winner video of the ThinKing Award 2018, have fun watching the ILO1 in Action – driver-led and automated.

Many thanks to the team of LeichtbauBW for the award and the organisation of the award and the award ceremony. Congratulations also from us to the other winners of the years 2014 – 2017.

ILO1 drives automated in Singapore

At the beginning of January, a team of four developers with an ILO1 were on the CETRAN test field for automated driving in Singapore. A small road network including intersections with traffic lights, bus stops and pedestrian crossings was set up on the CETRAN test field to test automated driving under ideal conditions. There, our ILO1 proved that it is capable of handling long and complex routes in an automated way and is able to execute the driving tasks from the infrastructure exactly.

ILO1 at the CETRAN test field in Singapore © Emm! solutions GmbH

Innovation Challenge 2018

With our application for funding for self-cleaning sensor housings in cooperation with the Aalen University of Applied Sciences, we took the first place in the “Innovation Challenge” in December of this year. Through the “Innovation Challenge”, the state of Baden-Württemberg supports innovative companies that work on innovative concepts in cooperation with universities and colleges. With the support of the state, our research project can now be implemented.

Minister of Science and Research Theresia Bauer presents the certificate to our colleague Max Riedel (left) and Prof. Dr. Merkel (right) from Aalen University of Applied Sciences

Project completion OTS 1.0

We celebrated the achievement of another milestone on October 25, 2018. The OTS 1.0 project with Siemens was successfully completed. In this project, the interaction of road-side infrastructure, cloud-based software services and autonomous electric vehicles was tested. Our ILO1 successfully demonstrated on 25.10. how it gets a driving job from the infrastructure and passes different use cases like passing obstacles. In addition to the ILO1 with which the communication between the infrastructure and the vehicle was tested, an essential part of our work was to prove the added value of infrastructure sensors for automated driving with the help of simulation. The complete Siemens Mobility press release can be found here.

ILO1 in Munich on the Siemens Campus © www.siemens.com/presse

Our ILO in the FAZ

Our ILO actually made it to the FAZ. We are very proud of that. You can read the german article about the ILO as well as the interview with our managing director Armin Müller.

The ILO1 with managing director Armin Müller in our office in Weil der Stadt
© Annette Cardinale

ILO 1 gains attention

We are quite happy that our autonomous mobility concept ILO 1 was chosen as “ThinKing” in january 2018 by the leightweight organisation “LeichtbauBW”. Now also the newspaper “Leonberger Kreiszeitung” is reporting about ILO 1 in their magazin “Forum Wirtschaft” (engl. forum economy). In the following Link you find the german article.

Forum Wirtschaft – Automobile Zukunft made in Weil der Stadt : Der flotte ILO 1 – Leonberger Kreiszeitung

ILO1 declared ThinKing in January 2018

The term ThinKing describes innovative and sustainable lightweight structure solutions from Baden-Württemberg that are presented regularly by Leichtbau BW GmbH. In January 2018 our ILO1, a highly automated electric vehicle, was voted a ThinKing. Learn more about how ILO1 was developed in the Leichtbau BW article. You’ll find the article here.

ILO1 autonomes Elektrofahrzeug
ILO1 – highly automated vehicle

AUTONOMUS eBUS CONCEPT

The world of passenger and goods transportation has undergone a number of revolutionary developments; at first, movement remained completely pedestrian, then was enhanced by horses, which later were succeeded by horsepower. Today, we cover distances in a few hours which, in former times, required days, even weeks to travel.

In cities, however, the average speed has undergone no improvement in the last 150 years! Streets are congested, individual mobility requires enormous amounts of space. Next to reducing harmful emissions, the provision of a cheap, efficient transportation solution for everyone has become more urgent than ever before.

Design Your Mobility!

YOUR ADVANTAGES AT ONE GLANCE

  • No fixed itineraries
  • Driving options according to needs
  • Sustainable concept
  • Ecologically sound environment

Design Your Economy!

Find our ILO Shuttle flyer (german) here.

Traffic flow measurements conducted in the Enz district

End of July, traffic flow measurements were conducted on behalf of the Enz District Administration in the village of Bauschlott near Pforzheim. This was aimed at determining the number of vehicles which pass through a particular crossing every day since that particular crossing is currently developing into an accident hotspot.

Left-turning vehicles using a busy road which leads into the town struggle to find a suitably large gap in the traffic to safely turn left. Some drivers become impatient during long waiting periods and then try to use smaller, more dangerous gaps, which frequently leads to traffic accidents. This was the matter which Emm! solutions was asked to document, and to provide validated information on the situation.

Das Mobile Messsystem von Emm! solutions zur Erhebung von Verkehrsdaten

Deploying Mobile Measuring System Eagle1

The mobile measuring system we developed consists mainly of image capture tools paired with a cyber-physical system. An independent power supply is assured by an integrated self-sufficient power source. All registered data are analysed using an evaluation algorithm designed by us. This algorithm captures vehicles through specified source and target traffic lanes for the individual itineraries which a vehicle may use within the crossing. All captured data are time-stamped to the split second and then stored in a database.

The traffic flow data measured in real-time were then integrated into a simulation with various possible construction scenarios for the respective crossing. Based upon the results of that simulation, we were able to issue a recommendation to solve the accident risk issues.

ThinKing Award 2018

Direkt zu Jahresbeginn durften wir unseren ersten Award entgegennehmen. Mit dem ThinKing stellt die Landesagentur für Leichtbau, die LeichtbauBW, einmal im Monat eine innovative Leichtbaulösung aus Baden-Württemberg vor. Ausgezeichnet wurde nun die beste Leichtbau-Innovation aus 2018. Wir sind sehr stolz, dass eine Fachjury unseren „ILO1“ aus den insgesamt zwölf ThinKings des Jahres 2018 zum Sieger gekürt hat. Wir sind sehr stolz diesen Preis im Namen des gesamten Teams entgegennehmen zu dürfen, da unsere Erfolge über das Jahr hinweg mit dem ILO1 ohne das gesamte Team nicht möglich gewesen wären. Anbei haben wir für Sie das Gewinner-Video des ThinkKing Award 2018, viel Spaß beim Ansehen des ILO1in Action – fahrergeführt und automatisiert.

Vielen Dank an das Team von LeichtbauBW für die Auszeichnung und die Organisation des Awards und der Preisverleihung. Glückwunsch auch von uns an die anderen Gewinner der Jahre 2014 – 2017.

ILO1 fährt automatisiert in Singapur

Anfang Januar war ein Team von vier Entwicklern mit einem ILO1 in Singapur auf dem CETRAN-Testfeld für automatisiertes Fahren. Auf dem CETRAN-Testlfeld wurde ein kleines Straßennetz inklusive Kreuzungen mit Lichtsignalanlagen, Bushaltestellen und Fußgängerüberwegen aufgebaut, um automatisiertes Fahren unter idealen Randbedingungen erproben zu können. Dort bewies unser ILO1, dass er in der Lage ist auch lange und komplexe Wegstrecken automatisiert zu bewältigen und die Fahraufträge aus der Infrastruktur exakt zu absolvieren.

ILO1 auf dem CETRAN-Testfeld in Singapur © Emm! solutions GmbH

Innovation Challenge 2018

Mit unserem Förderantrag in Kooperation mit der Hochschule Aalen zu selbstreinigenden Sensorgehäusen erzielten wir im Dezember diesen Jahres bei der „Innovation Challenge“ den ersten Platz. Durch die „Innovation Challenge“ fördert das Land Baden-Württemberg innovative Unternehmen, welche in Kooperation mit Universitäten und Hochschulen an neuartigen Konzepten arbeiten. Mit Hilfe der Förderung des Landes kann unser Forschungsprojekt nun umgesetzt werden.

Ministerin für Wissenschaft und Forschung Theresia Bauer überreicht unserem Kollegen Max Riedel (links) und Prof. Dr. Merkel von der Hochschule Aalen (rechts) die Urkunde

Projektabschluss OTS 1.0

Das Erreichen eines weiteren Meilensteins durften wir am 25. Oktober 2018 feiern. Das Projekt OTS1.0 mit Siemens wurde erfolgreich zu Ende gebracht. In diesem Projekt wurde das Zusammenspiel von straßenseitiger Infrastruktur, cloudbasierten Software-Services und autonomen Elektrofahrzeugen erprobt. Unser ILO1 hat am 25.10. erfolgreich demonstriert, wie er einen Fahrauftrag aus der Infrastruktur erhält und verschiedene Use-Cases wie das passieren von Hindernissen absolviert. Neben dem ILO1 mit dem die Kommunikation zwischen der Infrastruktur und dem Fahrzeug erprobt wurde, war ein wesentlicher Bestandteil unserer Arbeit mit Hilfe der Simulation den Mehrwert der Infrastruktursensorik für automatisiertes Fahren nachzuweisen. Die vollständige Pressemitteilung von Siemens Mobility finden Sie hier.

ILO1 in München auf dem Siemens Campus © www.siemens.com/presse

Unser ILO in der FAZ

Unser ILO hat es doch tatsächlich in die FAZ geschafft. Darauf sind wir sehr stolz. Den Artikel über den ILO, sowie das Interview mit unserem Geschäftsführer Armin Müller gibt es hier zum nachlesen.

Der ILO1 mit Geschäftsführer Armin Müller in unserem Büro in Weil der Stadt
© Annette Cardinale

Der ILO1 ist der ThinKing im Januar 2018

Mit dem ThinKing stellt die Leichtbau BW GmbH regelmäßig innovative und nachhaltige Leichtbaulösungen aus Baden-Württemberg vor. Im Januar 2018 wurde unser ILO1, als hochautomatisiertes Elektrofahrzeug zum ThinKing gewählt. Mehr über die Entwicklung des ILO1 finden Sie im Artikel von LeichtbauBW. Zum Artikel geht’s hier.

ILO1 autonomes Elektrofahrzeug
ILO1  – hochautomatisiertes Elektrofahrzeug

AUTONOMUS eBUS CONCEPT

ILO Shuttle – Mobilität von morgen bereits heute
In der Welt des Transports von Menschen und Gütern gab es immer wieder revolutionäre Entwicklungen: zuerst gingen wir zu Fuß, dann setzten wir Pferde ein, danach gingen wir zu Pferdestärken über. Wir überwinden nun in wenigen Stunden Entfernungen, für die wir früher Tage und Wochen unterwegs waren.
In den Städten hat sich die Durchschnittsgeschwindigkeit seit 150 Jahren allerdings nicht verbessert! Die Straßen sind verstopft, der Flächenbedarf für die individuelle Mobilität ist enorm. Neben der Reduzierung von Emissionen ist die Bereitstellung einer kostengünstigen und effizienten Transportlösung für alle Menschen notwendiger denn je.

Design your Mobility!

VORTEILE AUF EINEN BLICK

  • Keine festen Routen
  • Fahrmöglichkeit nach Bedarf
  • Nachhaltiges Konzept
  • Ökologisches Umfeld

Design your Economy!

Hier geht’s zur ILO-Shuttle Broschüre

Design des ILO Shuttle Konzepts © Emm! solutions GmbH

Verkehrsflussmessung im Enzkreis durchgeführt

Ende Juli wurde im Auftrag des Landratsamtes Enzkreis eine Verkehrsflussmessung in Bauschlott bei Pforzheim durchgeführt. Für eine Kreuzung die zunehmend einen Unfallschwerpunkt darstellt sollte die Anzahl der Fahrzeuge ermittelt werden, welche diese Kreuzung täglich durchfahren.

Die Linksabbieger auf eine viel befahrene Straße am Ortseingang hatten Mühe eine Lücke zu finden, die groß genug für ein sicheres Abbiegen war. Ungeduldig aufgrund des langen Wartens versuchten sie auch kleinere, riskante Lücken zu nutzen, was des öfteren Unfälle zur Folge hatte. Diese Problematik galt es von Emm! solutions zu erfassen und mit validen Daten zu belegen.

Das Mobile Messsystem von Emm! solutions zur Erhebung von Verkehrsdaten
Mobiles Messystem Eagle1 im Einsatz

Das von uns entwickelte mobile Messsystem besteht im Wesentlichen aus Tools zur bildtechnischen Erfassung und einem cyberphysikalischen System. Die unabhängige Stromversorgung wird über eine ins System integrierte, autarke Stromquelle sichergestellt. Die aufgezeichneten Daten wurden anhand eines selbstentwickelten Auswertungsalgorithmus analysiert. Dieser Algorithmus ist in der Lage anhand der Definition von Quell- und Zielverkehrsspuren für die einzelnen Routen, die ein Fahrzeug innerhalb der Kreuzung nehmen kann, die Fahrzeuge zu erfassen. Die erfassten Daten werden sekundengenau, mit einem Zeitstempel versehen, in einer Datenbank gespeichert.

Die auf diese Weise real gemessenen Verkehrsflussdaten flossen anschließend in eine Simulation mit verschiedenen denkbaren Bebauungsszenarien der Kreuzung ein. Basierend auf den Ergebnissen unserer Simulation, konnte eine Empfehlung für die Lösung der Unfallproblematik ausgesprochen werden.